Coming Home

Tomorrow Connor will be come home. He will return from what has, without a doubt, been the best experience of his young life. Connor will be coming home from Japan.

On Wednesday we had a chance to Skype with him for a short amount of time. He was so funny. Each time he answered a question, his eyes would light up, his eye brows would raise and he would nod his head up and down and say “yes, yes, yes”. He was definitely in “Japanese” mode.

I have a feeling that my “little boy” will return a young man. This experience will have changed him for life. I know that it changed Reuben, for the better. I also have a feeling that he will return home already looking forward to returning his senior year, just like his brother did. He will also be looking forward to hosting one of the Japanese students in our home when they visit Bend in 2013.

Connor 3 AM The Day He Left for Japan

I am so excited that Dave and I have been able to send our kids on exciting trips. Reuben went to Japan twice when he was in high school. Liberty went to Disneyland with the dance team. Kaylee traveled to Washington DC and Indiana this year and Connor got to go to Japan. All of these are experiences that my children will hold on to for the rest of their lives.

I had an opportunity.to go on two “big” trips when I was in high school. One was to the National FFA Convention in Kansas City. The second was with a national band to Europe. Both of those trips remain in my memory to this day. They were awesome. When I went to Kansas City I had never been on an airplane. My trip to Europe was my second time on an airplane and I flew across the ocean. What an experience for a high school girl who grew on a farm near Walla Walla, Washington. I am so grateful to my parents for doing whatever it took to allow me to go on those trips. It is one of the reasons that I have moved mountains to allow my children to experience the world.

So, tomorrow Connor comes home. I can’t wait to hear all about his trip. I know that saying goodbye is going to be one of the hardest things he’s ever done. Last night he posted on Facebook “tomorrow is going to be the worst day of my life”….ahhhhh.

What more can I say…..

Leave a Reply

